Boards & Committees


Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the main governing body of Humboldt Township.  It consists of your elected officials: Supervisor, Clerk, Treasurer, and two Trustees.

Your elected officials are:

Supervisor: Tom Prophet

Clerk: Sarah Etelamaki

Treasurer: Debbie Wiljanen

Trustee: Peter Koski

Trustee: Jeffrey Ogea


Township Board Meetings are held at the Township Hall 244 County Road FAF, Champion, MI on the Second Tuesday of each month at 7PM.


Fire Department Officers

 Annually the Fire Department votes for the following officer positions:

Chief: Steve Bartanen

Assistant Chief: Matt Zumpf

Secretary: Billy Gierut

Treasurer: Dillon Vial

Training Officer: Jeff Prophet


Did I mention that all the members of the Fire Department are volunteers!  Seriously, these hardworking men and women deserve our gratitude.  We truly appreciate all of their hard work and dedication.


Fire Department Meetings are held at the Fire Hall, 15350 US-41, Champion MI on the First Wednesday of each month at 7PM.


Planning Commission

The Planning Commission reviews zoning issues such as Conditional Use Permits and Zoning Amendments. They draft or assist in drafting plans and ordinances such as the Recreation Plan, Master Plan, Zoning Ordinance, and Road Improvement and Prioritization Plan to name a few.  Additionally the Planning Commission plans for Capital Improvements.  We are lucky to have amazing Planners with many years of experience.  Planning Commissions make recommendations to the board, they do not make the final decision.

Your Planning Commissioners are:

Chairman: Jim Kippola

Vice Chairman: Jeannie Carlisle

Secretary:  Joseph Wasie

Commissioner and Board Representative: Jeffrey Ogea

Commissioner: Dan Etelamaki


Planning Commission Meetings are held at the Township Hall 244 County Road FAF, Champion MI on the Fourth Monday of each month at 7PM.